Book Review: A Year With G.K. Chesterton

Having consistently read other devotionals in a similar theological framework (John Piper’s Daily and C.H. Spurgeon’s Morning and Evening), I was greatly anticipating this read as a great add to my collection.

To me, however, the book seemed extremely fragmented. While some daily devotionals do not have central themes tying together day to day, I felt that the excerpts (both of Chesterton as well as from his writings) were difficult to resonate with.

It’s a little difficult for me to explain but I wasn’t able to really connect with the material the way I have with other devotionals. It may simply be that the style and selection of passages weren’t for me, but this is a devotional that is likely better utilized in someone else’s hands.

I’m not saying it’s a bad devotional by any means. G.K. Chesterton is foundational in our understanding of Apologetics and bridging intellectual barriers, and I would absolutely recommend the devotional for fans of his, I just personally struggled to really connect with the material in a way that I deem essential to daily devotionals.

Once more: I do believe it is a solid devotional that can be utilized well in the right hands, it is simply not for me at this time.

A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes by the publisher. I was not required to post a positive review and the views expressed in this review are my own.

Leave a Reply

