Book Review: Welcome to the Story (Nichols)

This book can be found/purchased from Amazon here: http://ow.ly/6zH1w

Upon receiving this book, I didn’t really know what to expect. I hadn’t really heard much about the author, and I’ve seen a number of plays on this topic: “Know the word of God, live it out”.

Upon opening up the book, I was pleasantly surprised. Nichols is able to use an extremely conversational tone and truly level with you about topics that are quite obviously a passion of his. It’s encouraging to see how he ties in various topics to his own experiences, and not relying on other pastor’s situations or perspectives to form a framework.

I had heard the redemptive perspective of “Creation, Fall, Redemption, Restoration” for the first time last year, and though I’m not entirely sure if my pastor gleaned the idea from this book or not, I absolutely love the outline of it.

Nichols establishes very early on the importance of being able to see the Bible as a complete historical text, telling one grand story from start to finish, and all of it interrelated. When we’re able to see the Bible through the lens of a redemptive story, we are able to better understand the purposes of some of the texts, and therefore more prone to truly understand what is going on. I know this has been true for me.

This is a relatively quick read, but definitely gives you a lot of perspective to take into reading your Bible and truly seeing it’s place (as well as your own) in the scope of this historical framework.

The book also was extremely pleasing in a systematic perspective; I am a lover of doctrine and theology and this book did not disappoint–constantly providing me with different ways of examining something, and how to effectively implement that knowledge into tangible activity.

I am thankful for having read this book and I will no doubt be recommending it to others, loaning it out, and referring back to it in the months and years to follow.

–A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes by the CrossWay Publishing. I was not required to post a positive review and the views expressed in this review are my own.–

Leave a Reply

