Jonathan Edwards’ Resolutions – #6

Resolved, To live with all my might, while I do live.

–[note: I plan on coming back to this topic and developing this a little more specifically, but for now this will suffice]

This resolution is short, simple, and powerful. Edwards desires, as we all should, that his life have a certain level of power about it; that he will lively mightily as he seeks the face of God. A couple of significant things to think about come to mind when meditating on this resolution:

1) This sort of living can only come as we grow in a desire, dedication, and urgency for the glory of God to be proclaimed. As we focus our sights on God, our interests and motivations will be refined, allowing us to more specifically dedicate ourselves to Him, in turn weaning out distractions and directing our passion, desire, and energy to advancing the One worth spending everything for.

2) This type of mighty living can only come by asking ourselves tough questions that would be comfortable to ignore. This makes me think of an excerpt in Radical Together (David Platt) where it says: ‘[are you willing to put everything before God and say] We will do whatever you want, we will drop whatever you command, we will eliminate whatever is not best, and we will add whatever is necessary in order to make your glory known in the world around us, no matter what it costs us” (p.7, advanced reading copy).

We need to be able to put every aspect of our lives before God, and be prayerfully obedient to Him in asking for God to detach any entanglement that is holding us back from pursuing Him with everything. For me it was [and continues to be] watching media–whether that be television shows, or sermons/spiritually related media. Though these things aren’t inherently bad–and much of it is good in nature [when it comes to the spiritual pursuits], it often withholds me from God’s best in my life. Now, I’m not saying this is the case for everyone, but I think examining our lives–and being honest with ourselves–will really allow us to refocus and refine our lifestyles and what we value as significant.

I don’t know about you, but I want my life to mean something–and beyond that, I don’t want to settle for accomplishing anything that could be explained by my own anything. I want to live with a power, a resolve, and a focus that far outweighs anything that any of us could conceive on our own power. I want to yield myself to the Holy Spirit’s leading, and allow Him to take control of ALL things in my life, no matter how inconvenient or burdening that may be, because I know that when I am allowing the Spirit to lead, Christ is more than sufficient in all things.

Let me leave us with a powerful quote from Ian Thomas explaining how the Christian Life ought to look:

“The Christian life can be explained only in terms of Jesus Christ, and if your life as a Christian can still be explained in terms of you- your personality, your willpower, your gift, your talent, your money, your courage, your scholarship, your dedication, your sacrifice, or your anything- then although you may have the Christian life, you are not yet living it.”

Leave a Reply

