A Minister’s Strength

-Unchangeable Jehovah:

When I am discouraged in my ministry

and full of doubts of my self,

fasten me upon the rock of your eternal election,

then my hands will not hang down,

and I shall have hope for myself and others.

[You] know [your] people by name,

and will at the appointed season

lead them out of a natural to a gracious state

by [your] effectual calling.

This is the ground of my salvation,

the object of my desire,

the motive of my ministry.

Keep me from high thoughts of myself

or my work,

for I am nothing but sin and weakness;

in me no good dwells,

and my best works are but sin.

Humble me to the dust before thee.

Root and tear out the poisonous weed

of self-righteousness,

and show me my utter nothingness;

Keep me sensible of my sinnership;

Sink me deeper into penitence and self-abhorrence;

Break the Dagon of pride in pieces

before the ark of thy presence;

Demolish the Babel of self-opinion,

and scatter it to the wind;

Level to the ground my Jericho walls

of a rebel heart;

Then grace, grace, will be my experience and cry.

I am a poor, feeble creature when faith

is not in exercise,

like an eagle with pinioned wings;

Grant me to rest on thy power and faithfulness,

and to know that there are two things

worth living for:

to further [your] cause in the world,

and to do good to the souls and bodies of men;

This is my ministry, my life, my prayer, my end.

Grant me grace that I shall not fail.
-From Valley of Vision.

Leave a Reply

