Hiatus

So it’s been a little bit since I’ve posted on here, and to be completely transparent, I’ve been distant from God.

I’ve been allowing myself to be so caught up in the things I have, or the possibilities of all the things I’m able to do, places I’m able to see, that–once again–I thrust God on the back-burner.

It grieves me to admit that, but God has most certainly convicted me of that.

I finally gave myself the time of day to dive back in, to open myself up to God.

But what’s most beautiful about that is that even though I read legalistically, and reluctantly (ie “reading these things to catch up systematically or to clear my inbox”), GOD SHOWED UP.

God’s pursuit of me leaves me without words. To know the love He has for us, that even though we daily turn our backs on Him, He still reaches out His hand, still pursues us, still reveals Himself to us as though we were spotless… I simply cannot explain it.

A couple amazing things that God has been putting on my heart today (in the brief reading time before this):

1) Is church boring to your friends because you, yourself, are leading a boring life not much different than their own?

>> STEP OUT! DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT! WE SHOULDN’T LIVE A LIFE THAT LOOKS LIKE THE WORLD’S. WE ARE TO BE IN THE WORLD AND NOT OF IT. WE ARE CALLED TO LIVE DIFFERENTLY BECAUSE CHRIST LIVED DIFFERENTLY. (more on this to come).

2) Christ is in such amazing union and relationship with the Father that he is literally overjoyed with it. He cannot keep it in, and because of his passion and excitement, he has to tell everyone and share this love with all he encounters.

>> MAY WE BE OVERJOYED WITH THE GLORIOUS RELATIONSHIP WE HAVE WITH THE FATHER THROUGH CHRIST JESUS AND EMPOWERED BY THE HOLY SPIRIT TO SHARE THIS WITH THE WORLD.

3) We need to constantly revolutionize how we present the gospel. Don’t have a self-faith where you indulge in the riches of Christ for the sole reasoning of puffing yourself up.

>> GOD KNOWS I’VE DONE THIS IN THE PAST, AND HE HAS CALLED ME OUT ON IT. MAY WE BE CONSTANTLY ADAPTING HOW WE LIVE OUT OUR FAITH THAT THE WORLD CANNOT HELP BUT NOTICE.

Everyone,

There is so much at stake, so much to do in this world. We don’t have to do everything, but we can all do something.

What we need to open our eyes to (myself included) is that we can’t expect the worldview of Christians to change, or a raising up of disciples to occur, or people to come to the Father, if we are simply sliding into the common mold of things, and refusing to live a life different than the rest of the world.

We are empowered with so much more. FOR so much more.

I pray we begin living like it.

Leave a Reply

